Windsor Essex To Remain In Red – Control After Province Announces Changes To Regions

Friday February 26th, 2021

Posted at 4:40pm


Windsor and Essex County will remain in Red – Control under the province’s COVID-19 framework for at least the next week.

The province announced changes to several regions, late Friday afternoon, including two new lockdowns.

“While we continue to see the number of cases and other public health indicators lowering in many regions across the province, the recent modelling shows us that we must be nimble and put in place additional measures to protect Ontarians and stop the spread of COVID-19,” said Christine Elliott, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health, in a news release. “With COVID-19 variants continuing to spread in our communities, it is critically important that everyone continues strictly adhering to all public health and workplace safety measures to help contain the virus and maintain the progress we have made to date.”

The province says they’re locking down both the Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit region and the Thunder Bay District Health Unit region using an “emergency brake” to “immediately interrupt transmission and contain community spread.”

Elsewhere, the Niagara Region Public Health unit region will move into Red – Control

The Chatham-Kent Public Health region, the Middlesex-London and the Southwestern Public Health Unit region will each move to Orange – Restrict.

The Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit region and the Huron Perth Public Health region will move to Yellow – Protect.

Lastly, the province is moving the Grey Bruce Health Unit to Green – Prevent.

The province says Peel Public Health, Toronto Public Health, and North Bay Parry Sound District will remain in Shutdown with a Stay-at-Home order in effect until at least Monday, March 8th.

Do You Like This Article?