Mostly CloudyNow
22 °C
71 °F
A Mix Of Sun And CloudThu
22 °C
72 °F
Mainly SunnyFri
27 °C
81 °F
30 °C
86 °F


Summer Festival Guide

Traffic Cameras

Events Calendar

Lowest Gas Prices

ERCA Seeking Nominees For Conservation Awards

Monday November 23rd, 2015, 8:14pm


Hello time traveller!!
This article is 3160 days old.
The information listed below is likely outdated and has been preserved for archival purposes.

The Essex Region Conservation Authority is calling for nominations for its 2015 Conservation Awards.

The awards honour and recognize those in the community who have made outstanding contributions towards improving our natural environment, and ultimately the health and quality of life in the Essex Region.

“We feel it is important to recognize and thank all those who are making on-the-ground contributions towards achieving a healthy and sustainable future for the Windsor-Essex community,” explains Danielle Breault Stuebing, ERCA’s Director of Community Outreach Services. While the United Nations has indicated that at a minimum, at least 12% of any region must consist of natural areas, in the Essex Region, merely 8.5% of our local landscape remains in its natural state. “We highlight these actions in the hopes that others will be inspired to do their part in helping to create a healthier future for our region.”

The annual Awards will be presented to individuals and organizations in four categories:

The Youth Award recognizes a youth leader who has undertaken habitat or conservation projects or activities and is a student in the elementary or secondary schools of our region.

The Education Award for excellence in conservation education programs or projects in schools, organizations, companies, youth groups, etc.

The Volunteer Award for outstanding effort in volunteering time and services for conservation programs and projects;

The Environmental Achievement Award for programs or projects which have enhanced the region’s environment. In addition to individuals and organizations, municipalities can also be nominated for environmental achievements.

Nominations can be submitted online here, or nominators can simply write a one page summary of the individual or organizational accomplishments that merit the receipt of the award.

Nominations close on Friday, December 11th, 2015.

The awards, presented since 1992, will be presented at ERCA’s Annual General Meeting in January 2016.

Daily Newsletter

Sign up to receive all the latest, local news stories you may have missed!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Do You Like This Article?

Content Continues Below Local Sponsor Message
Content Continues Below Local Sponsor Message
Content Continues Below Local Sponsor Message