New Faces Join Council Tonight

Monday December 6th, 2010

Posted at 9:21am


Hello time traveller!!

This article is 4262 days old.

The information listed below is likely outdated and has been preserved for archival purposes.

The Inaugural Meeting of Windsor City Council takes place Monday evening at 7:00 p.m. in the Chrysler Theatre at the St. Clair Centre for the Arts.

This will be a historic day in the City, as we move to a ten ward, one councillor per ward system.  At the inaugural meeting, the following individuals will be sworn in for the 2010-2014 term of Council: Mayor Eddie Francis, Councillor Drew Dilkens (Ward 1), Councillor Ron Jones (Ward 2), Councillor Fulvio Valentinis (Ward 3), Councillor Alan Halberstadt (Ward 4), Councillor Ed Sleiman (Ward 5), Councillor Jo-Anne Gignac (Ward 6), Councillor Percy Hatfield (Ward 7), Councillor Bill Marra (Ward 8), Councillor Hilary Payne (Ward 9), and Councillor Al Maghnieh (Ward 10).

“A Taste of Windsor” reception will follow in the Canadian Club Room, and will showcase 14 Cultural Villages: South Asian, Caribbean, German, Greek, Polish, Slovenian and Slovak, Bosnian, Serbian, Filipino, Italian, Hungarian, Macedonian, Romanian and Chinese.

Each village will prepare samplings of traditional foods and desserts. All plates range up to $5.00 with proceeds to benefit the participating Cultural Organizations.

Do You Like This Article?